

2020 ASME N. O. Myklestad Award

The Technical Committee on Vibration and Sound (TCVS) of the ASME Design Engineering Division solicits nominations for the 2020 N. O. Myklestad Award. This award will be presented at the 2020 ASME Conference on Mechanical Vibration and Noise (VIB), a part of the ASME International Design Engineering Technical Conferences.

The N. O. MYKLESTAD AWARD, established in 1991, is presented in recognition of a major innovative contribution to vibration engineering. The recipient will receive a \$2,000 honorarium and an award plaque.

Nomination packages should include a letter of nomination, up to four letters of support, the nominee's curriculum vitae, and up to one other supporting document, if any 1. More information on the ASME nomination process, including the required nomination forms, can be found at

https://www.asme.org/about-asme/honors-awards/award-information/how-to-nominate

All nomination packages must adhere to the ASME award guidelines (found at the above link) and be submitted electronically in one single pdf file. The deadline for the receipt of nomination packages is August 2nd, 2019.

Previous recipients of the N. O. Myklestad Award include:

1991 – N.O. Myklestad, 1993 – T.C. Huang, 1995 – C.S. Hsu, 1997 – D. Bently, 1999 – M. Prohl, 2001 – V. Melnikov, 2003 – Y.K. Cheung, 2005 – C. Pierre, 2007 – K.W. Wang, 2009 – S.C. Sinha, 2011 – N. C. Perkins, 2013 – S. Shaw, 2015 – R. Parker, and 2017 – I. Y. Shen.

Submit all nomination packages and inquiries to:

Rob Parker

Email: r.parker@vt.edu Phone: (540) 231-9894

Matthew Brake

Email: brake@rice.edu Phone: (713) 348-6142

and

TCVS

Email: tcvs.asme@gmail.com

¹ These guidelines supersede any pre-existing guidelines found online for previous years.